Coplon Grants - Awarded to Promising Kidney Researchers

2014 Recipients

Michael Eadon, Indiana University
“Genetic Susceptibility to Nephrotoxicity”

Jyothsna Gattineni, UT Southwestern
“Fibroblast Growth Factor 23 (FGF23) and Vascular Calcification”

Jay Koyner, University of Chicago
“Validation of the Furosemide Stimulation Test: A Physiologic Biomarker for Acute Kidney Injury”

Rachel Patzer, Emory University
“iChoose Kidney Decision Aid for Treatment Options”

Timo Rieg, UC San Diego
“Role of adenylyl cyclase 6 in phosphate homeostasis”

2013 Recipients

Judith Blaine, University of Colorado Denver
“The role of the neonatal Fc receptor (FcRn) in podocytes”

Denise Marciano, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
“Lumen formation in the developing nephron”

Julie Paik, Brigham & Women’s Hospital
“Novel Imaging of Bone Mineralization and Matrix to Assess Fracture Risk in Chronic Kidney Disease”

Jeanie Park, Emory University
“Sympathetic regulation during intradialytic hypertension”

Eugene Rhee, Massachusetts General Hospital
“Profiling Vascular Gradients to Characterize Renal Metabolite Handling”

2012 Recipients

Dorin-Bogdan Borza, Vanderbilt University
“Mechanism-based targeted therapies for membranous nephropathy”

David Friedman, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
“Role of APOL1 in the vasculature”

Avrum Gillespie, Temple University
“The formation and influence of hemodialysis patient social networks on patient knowledge, attitudes, dietary and medication adherence, and transplantation”

Cathy Yeung, University of Washington
“A genomic approach to understanding uremic toxicity and the association with cardiovascular disease”

Quansheng Zhu, University of California, Los Angeles
“The physiological and pathogenic role of M-Pla2R in mediating idiopathic membranous nephropathy”

2011 Recipients

Maryam Afkarian, University of Washington
“Generating a candidate biomarker list for type 1 diabetic kidney disease”

Massimo Attanasio, UT Southwestern Medical Center
“Role of Hedgehog signaling in kidney apoptosis and fibrosis”

Mitsi Blount, Emory University School of Medicine
“The role of PCK in Lithium –induced Nephrogenic diabetes insipidus”

Wai Cheung, University of California San Diego
“The impact of ghrelin on nutrition and cardiovascular mortality in chronic kidney disease”

John Danziger, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
“The importance of Vitamin K in Chronic Kidney disease”

Jacqueline Ho, University of Pittsburgh
“Defining the role of microRNAs in the regulation of podocyte structure and function”

2010 Recipients

Hui Cai, M.D., Emory University School of Medicine
"The Role of a Novel WNK Signaling Pathway in Sodium Chloride Cotransporter (NCC) Regulation"

Julie Ho, M.D., University of Manitoba
"Novel Urine Biomarkers of Progressive Interstitial Fibrosis/Tubular Atrophy and Renal Allograft Dysfunction"

Shuta Ishibe, M.D., Yale University School of Medicine
"The Role of Synaptojanin-1 in Podocyte Homeostasis"

Anne Murray, M.D., Minneapolis Medical Research Foundation
"Decline in Physical Function and Independence in the Transition Zone"

Ranjani Moorthi, M.D., Indiana University
"The Use of Plant Based Diet to Treat Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease-Mineral Bone Disorder"

2009 Recipients

Satish A. Eraly, M.D., University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine
"Oat3 inhibitors as potential novel antihypertensives"

Joshua Lipschutz, M.D., University of Pennsylvania
"Gene Therapy to Treat Polycystic Kidney Disease"

Walter Mutter, M.D., Beth Israel
"The Role of Soluble Erythropoetin Receptor in Dialysis Patients"

Patrick H. Pun, M.D., Duke University
"Identification of Modifiable Risk Factors for Sudden Cardiac Arrest in Hemodialysis Patients"

Jane C. Tan, M.D., Stanford University School of Medicine
"Living Kidney Donors and Hypertension"

Daniel E. Weiner, M.D., Tufts University School of Medicine
"Medical, Ecologic and Economic Implications of Dialyzer Reprocessing"

Sushrut S. Walikar, M.D., Brigham and Women’s Hospital
"Serum Sodium Concentration and Outcomes in Hemodialysis Patients"

Liping Zhang, M.D., Baylor College of Medicine
"IGF-IR mediated signaling involved in muscle wasting and regeneration in CKD by regulating satellite cell activation"

2008 Recipients

Gabriela Garcia, M.D., Baylor College of Medicine
"Arrest of Kidney Disease Progression by A2A Adenosine Receptor Activation"

Yoshi Hall, M.D., University of Washington
"Disparities in end-stage renal disease among Asians and Pacific Islanders"

Susanne Nicholas, M.D., David Geffen School of Medicine UCLA
"Investigating Prevention and Mechanisms of Type 1 Diabetic Nephropathy"

Alan Pao, M.D., Stanford University
"Gamma-Melanocyte Stimulating Hormone Signaling: Implications for Salt-Sensitive Hypertension and Chronic Kidney Disease"

Venkataraman Ramanathan, M.D., Baylor College of Medicine
"Biofilms in Hemodialysis Catheters"

Rajeev Rohatgi, M.D., Mount Sinai School of Medicine
"Mechanoregulation of Fibrosis-associated Protein Expression in Renal Tubular Epithelia"

Tarak Srivastava, M.D., University of Missouri, Kansas City
"Role of PGE ” in Podocyte Biology: Implications for Progression of Chronic Kidney Disease"

Mark Unruh, M.D., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
"Sleep in Children and Adolescents with Chronic Kidney Disease"

2007 Recipients

Tarek El-Achkar, M.D., Saint Louis University

Vijayakrishna K. Gadi, M.D., Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Gur Kaushal, M.D., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Thu Le, M.D., Duke University Medical Center

Martina Reslerova, M.D., University of Manitoba

Farook Thameem, M.D., University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio

Joshua Thurman, M.D., University of Colorado at Denver and Health Sciences Center

Xiaonan Wang, M.D., Emory University

2006 Recipients

Vibha Bhatnagar, M.D., University of California, San Diego

David Charytan, M.D., Brigham & Women’s Hospital

Manjula Kurella, M.D., University of California, San Francisco

Robert Mak, M.D., Oregon Health and Science University

Leif Oxburgh, M.D., Maine Medical Center

Chirag Parikh, M.D., Yale University School of Medicine and VAMC

Farzana Perwad, M.D., University of California, San Francisco

Dominic Raj, M.D., University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center

For more information, please contact